Well, hello there!

7 03 2012

I have had great visions for this blog.  The reality is, I’m never going to be a great blogger.  Mostly because I am lazy and prefer to stare at facebook than actually come up with my own thoughts.  A little because I have another blog, strictly for my children’s’ birth families that satisfies a lot of my desire to blog. And some because I am really busy and can’t seem to make it a priority.  Currently, I have about 5 half written posts about our journey to Little Sis and things since then.  There are so many things that I want to shout from the rooftops in regards to her.  But I probably won’t have time. 🙂

I go back to work on Monday.  I have really, really enjoyed my maternity leave.  I have had fun days, lazy days, sick days, completely frazzled and crazy days… but I have enjoyed my two girls so much on every single day.  I have enjoyed my mother living less than a mile away with the ability to come over in a moments notice.  Quite frankly, I am pretty depressed about having to go back to work.  I requested to go part time a few weeks ago and it was all but laughed at.  So, back to work I go… for now.  I’m going to quit.  I am going to be a stay at home mom.  And I want to jump up and down like a crazy person because I am so excited and I also want to cry because I am so nervous and intimidated about being my children’s only caregiver during the day.  How silly is that?  Anyway, I have to go back until we finalize little sis’ adoption.  Or at least, that is what I thought.  I realized yesterday that any money that my company gives us as a reimbursement will be subtracted from our adoption tax credit.  So… we will get it eventually, just not right NOW when we are trying to figure out how to make this work on one income.  So, back to work I go until hopefully May.  I am hoping we finalize in May and Hubbs gets his raise that we are anticipating in May and we are able to refinance our house this month… if everything falls into place, this transition should be pretty easy.  If it doesn’t, it will just be a little harder.

Even short term, however, I am pretty sad about leaving my girls.  Little Sis will be at home where my wonderful family has divided up the days so she can stay out of daycare.  Big Sis will be back at her preschool that she loves so much.  And I will be sitting in a cubicle missing my sweet angels, resenting my boss for not accommodating me after being his right hand (underpaid) man for 7 years, and waiting on pins and needles until I can hand over that paper that outlines my resignation.

 

A little catch up….

-Our first doctor visit for Little Sis was the worst day of my life.  My version is that the doctor heard “Adoption” and immediately went to special needs.  She was throwing around diagnoses like CP and some other scary things that I had never heard of.  She wanted to admit her to the hospital for tests…  Crack head.  Anyway, all is fine (just some minor things that we have pretty much already taken care of)and I hate that lady for rocking my world (not my regular doctor and I hope to never see her again.  I am not angry, I just never want to feel that way again).

-Big sis has had a hard time staying well.  Most recently, she had a febrile seizure due to a 3* fever spike in 6 minutes, I kid you not.  104.4*, seizure, ER, double ear infection, YUCK.  My poor girl.

-Little Sis has some pretty rough acid reflux and while Zantac sure helps, we have had some pretty rough days.  I have tried really hard to not be so schedule oriented this time around (so people stop making fun of me), but a good medicine, feeding, nap schedule keeps this kiddos tummy trouble under control.  So whatever, my world revolves around my kids’ nap schedules.  Sue me.

-I’m feeling happy and blessed beyond belief.  Every day.  My girls are so amazing and I am so fortunate to be their mama.

-just a quick note about having two… I feel like the adoption talk had gotten so much easier now that we have two.  I feel like it is so much easier for me to talk to Big Sis about her adoption story when I can also talk about Little Sis’ with her.  I guess I just feel like it about how our family came to be rather just her and she isn’t so singled out and different (even though I totally know SHE never felt like that).

-we are talking about adoption #3.  Not as a certainty, but if there will be an adoption #3.  I always planned on 4 kids.  Together we decided on three.  Now, I don’t know.  I am happy, but I also want to decide NOW because if we are done, I want to put family planning behind us.  Is it just me, or does family planning through adoption seem to just constantly loom?

-other than that, my house is messy, my bank account is empty and my heart is oh so full!

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 03 2012
Rebekah

It’s so good to read a catch-up! I am excited to join your mommy of two club very, very soon! 🙂

How awesome that you get to stay home. I am excited for you. What a wonderful blessing!

7 03 2012
Cristy

Thanks for the update. Sorry about the having to go back to work full time.

7 03 2012
Faith

Good to hear from you. I’m so sorry to hear about your work – not cool. I hope your babies are feeling healthy by now, sheesh! And, oh my, I know the reflux story – it is hard, but it does pass. Jackson’s started fading around 6 months old and was all but gone by 9 months. And mine are now both 1 and I still live my life around nap schedules. When I don’t, I pay. So, I am right there with ya’:). Take care!

8 03 2012
hope548

You just sound so completely full and happy. This update made me happy too. Hope things work out for you to stay home as soon as possible!

12 03 2012
Holly

FINALLY 🙂

I hope everything falls into place so that you can stay at home very soon. It’s not always easy, but I never take it for granted.

As for family planning…well, I feel so sure that I want a third (K agrees), yet I agree – it looms. For us, we want a larger age gap between Harper and #3 (she and C were 23.5m apart). So I think we will start the process when Charlotte is 5 and Harper is 3? So I just push it out of my mind for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

